Morocco as an independent state in 1956, Canada has continued to grant most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Netherlands. Convention of commerce of July 11, 1924 includes Netherlands Antilles and Suriname. GATT effective January 1, 1948. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Nicaragua. Trade agreement in force December 19, 1946. GATT effective May 28, 1950. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Niger. Franco — Canadian trade agreement of 1933 applied to Niger. Admittance to GATT December 31, 1963. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Norway. Convention with United Kingdom of May 16, 1913 applied to Canada. GATT effective July 10, 1948. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Pakistan. Canada unilaterally accords British preferential treatment without contractual obligation. GATT effective July 30, 1948. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation tariff treatment.)

Panama. Commercial agreement of 1928 between the United Kingdom and Panama applied to Canada, Treaty terminated March 21, 1941. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Paraguay. Exchange of notes in force June 21, 1940. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Peru. GATT effective October 7, 1951. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Philippines. Trade agreement in force August 29, 1972. Granted provisional accession to GATT on August 9, 1973. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Poland. Convention of commerce in force August 15, 1936. GATT effective October 18, 1967. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Portugues, Portuguese adjacent islands and Portuguese overseas provinces. Trade agreement in force April 29, 1955. Accession to GATT May 6, 1962. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Qatar. Qatar maintains de facto application of GATT. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Romania. Trade agreement in force December 14, 1971. GATT effective November 14, 1971. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Rwanda. GATT effective July 1, 1962. (Canada grants most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Senegal. Franco — Canadian trade agreement of 1933 applied to Senegal. GATT effective June 20, 1960. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

South Africa, Republic of. Trade agreement in force June 30, 1933. Exchange of notes August 2 and 31, 1935, effective retroactively from July 1, 1935. GATT effective June 13, 1948. (Exchange of British preferential rates on scheduled items. Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Spain and Spanish possessions. Since August 1, 1928, Canada has adhered to UK — Spain treaty of commerce of October 31, 1922. GATT effective August 29, 1963. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Sweden. UK — Sweden treaties of peace and commerce of March 18, 1826 applied to Canada. GATT effective April 30, 1950. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)

Switzerland. UK — Switzerland treaty of friendship, commerce and reciprocal establishment of September 6, 1855 applied to Canada. By exchange of notes Liechtenstein included under terms of this agreement, effective August 2, 1947. GATT effective August 1, 1966. (Exchange of most-favoured-nation treatment.)